Chitwan Tigers win first Everest Premier League Twenty20 cricket title

Half a century of Bhim Sharki and a four wicket transport from Kamal Airee gave the Chitwan Tigers a four wicket victory over Pokhara Rhinos as they won their first Everest Premier League Twenty20 cricket tournament title at TU cricket ground in Kirtipur on Saturday.

Calling on Pokhara to strike first, Chitwan, led by Sompal Kami, beat Binod Bhandari’s Pokhara for a paltry 111 in 17.5 overs. Chasing the target, middle-order hitter Sharki made a crucial 45-ball 63 stroke as Chitwan raced for the win, scoring 114-5 in 15.5 overs.

Captain Kami punched Mahato for a border in the fifth delivery of the 16th to guide Chitwan to their very first silverware in the fourth edition. It was also Chitwan’s third consecutive victory over Pokhara in the tournament, the first coming from the championship phase and the second from qualifying for the final, both won by nine wickets.

Champions Chitwan pocketed a purse of 5 million rupees while Pokhara walked away with 1.5 million rupees.

“We had a balanced team and the addition of Afghan hitter Mohammad Shahzad was a big plus for us,” Chitwan coach Samsong Jung Thapa said after the victory.

“The team was also dotted with the best bowlers and fast spinners in the country. The arrival of Afghanistan Karim Janat and Sri Lanka Prassana made us even stronger in the bowling department while the presence of Bhim Sharki and Rajesh Pulami in the squad meant we had hitters in All players except Dhakal and Shahab Alam could hit, so we had depth in the squad. “

Of the final, he said: “Although we beat them twice in the tournament, we didn’t take them lightly as it was another game and we tried to give continuity to our game. momentum.”

Pokhara’s misery began after losing South African opener Richard Levi by 26 of 15. He hit five limits before being caught by Dilip Nath over Karim Janat in the fourth round with 37 points on the board.

They started losing wickets quickly and were at 3-43 as they lost Rit Gautam and Sri Lankan Sahan Arachchige by two points apiece. The other opener Bipin Rawal contributed 15-ball 17 with a limit and six apiece.

Sri Lankan Asela Gunaratne was Pokhara’s top scorer, collecting 24 balls 34 including three limits and a six. He was captured by Nath off his compatriot Sekkuge Prasanna. Captain Bhandari was another standout scorer, contributing 22 of 26 points while no other hitter hit double-digit numbers. He hit two fours before being caught by Sharki off Airee.

Man of the Match Airee grabbed four wickets in his 3.5 overs bowling spell conceding 20 points. Janat and Prasanna chose two wickets each in their three lot. While Janat gave 15 points, Prasanna conceded 13.

Chitwan also got off to a shaky start in his pursuit race, losing the top three wickets for 20 races, including Sri Lankan opener Mohammad Shahzad for 11 races. His opening partner Hasim Amsari and number three hitter Karim Janat were both out for a duck.

But Sharki, who came to bat at number four, stabilized the innings playing 45 63 balls. He broke seven limits and two sixes before being caught by Rit Gautam off Kishore Mahato in the penultimate ball. sleeves. Sharki also shared a 54-point partnership for the fourth wicket with Nath who scored 18 of 17 points.

Rajesh Pulami was the other hitter to contribute double-digit numbers scoring 14 points before captain Kami hit the limit in the very first ball he faced to guide them to victory.

Mahato was Pokhara’s bowling choice, claiming four wickets in his 3.5-overs bowling alley. He conceded 27 points. Nandan Yadav picked two wickets in his four-way spell, giving 26 points.

Chitwan also won the individual tournament prizes. Chitwan’s left-arm spinner Sagar Dhakal was declared player of the series for his crucial 14-wicket run in the tournament. The 19-year-old received a Pulsar two-wheeler.

His teammate Bhim Sharki received the Emerging Player Award while Airee received the Dare to Dream Award. They were rewarded with Rs51,000 each. Sharki was the tournament’s second top scorer, with 196 points including two half centuries. Average pace Airee has caught 12 wickets in seven rounds of the tournament.

Source link

About Stefany Edmondson

Check Also

Lukaku, Van Dijk, Ederson: the player most likely to become a WWE star from every Premier League club

The world of WWE and football may be relatively different, but one of the Premier …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *